CICF News / 2010 / June / News Post
June 14, 2010
24 Marion County High School Seniors Receive Scholarships

The Indianapolis Foundation is pleased to announce 12 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars and 12 Indianapolis Foundation Community Scholars. Students were selected based on financial need, community service, academics and interview skills.

Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholar will receive full tuition to any Indiana college for four years of study plus an annual $800 stipend for required books and equipment.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholars, their respective high schools, and colleges they plan to attend are:

  • Ryan Cloyd (Beech Grove High School, Wabash College)
  • Cristian Delgado (Southport High School, Indiana University - Bloomington)
  • Kaila Dunnuck (Decatur Central High School, Indiana University - Bloomington)
  • Anastasia Foster (Pike High School, Purdue University – West Lafayette)
  • Gregory Gorsage (St. Theodore Guerin High School, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology)
  • Javai Harris (Warren Central High School, Indiana University - Bloomington)
  • John Macke (Cathedral High School, University of Notre Dame)
  • Kelly McMasters (Scecina Memorial High School, Ball State University)
  • Joley Pope (Broad Ripple High School, Indiana University - Bloomington)
  • Lindsey Stern (North Central High School, Indiana University - Bloomington)
  • Marquel Thompson (Ben Davis High School, Purdue University – West Lafayette)
  • Ryan Tooley (Scecina Memorial High School, undecided)


Thirty-five Marion County high schools could nominate two students. Nominees completed an application and were reviewed by The Indianapolis Foundation’s Community Scholarship Committee. Finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the recipients. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally-accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.


The Indianapolis Foundation is honored to manage these scholarships which are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment, Inc. initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Since 1998, 213 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships have been awarded in Marion County.


The Indianapolis Foundation Community Scholars

Twelve Indianapolis Foundation Community Scholarships were awarded from the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Applicant pool. Donations to the Marion County Community Scholarship Fund and a grant from The Indianapolis Foundation’s Community Endowment make The Indianapolis Foundation Community Scholarships possible. Indianapolis Foundation Community Scholars will be awarded $20,000 over four years or $5,000 per year.

The names of each of these scholarship winners and their respective high schools are:

  • Victoria Lay (Pike High School)
  • Lauren Schommer (Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School)
  • Mariana Lopez-Owens (North Central High School)
  • Krystel Sloan (Southport High School)
  • Amber Gard (Speedway High School)
  • Tanika Lyles (Decatur Central High School)
  • Kevin Williams (Cathedral High School)
  • Aaron Barnett (George Washington Community School)
  • Evan Swhear (Roncalli High School)
  • Elizabeth Hineman (Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School)
  • Rebekah Krupski (Lutheran High School of Indianapolis)
  • Alexandria Pettigrew (Cardinal Ritter High School)

About The Indianapolis Foundation

The Indianapolis Foundation, the community foundation serving Marion County and an affiliate of Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF), administers the Lilly Endowment and The Indianapolis Foundation Community Scholarship programs for residents of Marion County.

During 2009-2010, CICF awarded nearly $1 million in scholarships. Individuals interested in helping students achieve degree attainment can contribute to the Marion County Community Scholarship Fund or create a named scholarship fund.

For more information on The Indianapolis Foundation and its scholarships, contact Amy Bodine, CICF donor services advisor, at 631.6542 ext. 555, e-mail, or visit the scholarships section of our site.