CICF News / 2011 / August / News Post
August 22, 2011
Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowships Guidelines and Application Announced

INDIANAPOLIS, IN — Guidelines and an online application are now available for the 2011 Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowships program at Applications are due no later than Friday, September 23, 2011.

Now in its 7th year, the program was established by Jeremy Efroymson to increase public awareness of contemporary art in Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky and Ohio. Managed by Central Indiana Community Foundation since its inception in 2004, the program has awarded $600,000 to 30 individual contemporary artists. The intent of the fellowship is to reward creativity and encourage emerging and established individual artists by supporting their artistic development.

“Jeremy Efroymson’s commitment to nurturing creativity and artistic expression in central Indiana is visionary in its scope,” said Brian Payne, president and CEO, Central Indiana Community Foundation. “Certainly it provides important support to the arts community. But it also fosters imagination and inspiration, both of which are invaluable to our community’s future.”

Five $20,000 fellowships will be awarded in 2011; to be eligible for a 2011 fellowship, applicants must be 25 or older by September 2011, must reside in select counties in Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky or Ohio as of September 2010 and must make a commitment to reside in any of the aforementioned states during the duration of the one-year fellowship (November 2011 – November 2012).

Artists must also work in one of the following mediums to be eligible for fellowship consideration: Ceramics; installation art; new media (computer generated or 3-D art); painting; photography; printmaking or sculpture. Applications featuring work in animation, illustration, short film, feature film, wearable or functional decorative art including jewelry, wood or glass will not be accepted. 


2004:  Marc Jacobson, Greg Hull, Linda Adele Goodine, Eric Nordgulen, David Russick
2005:  Katrin Asbury, Stuart Hyatt, Emily Kennerk, Brian Myers, Jamie Pawlus
2007:  Casey Roberts, Lucinda Devlin, Brian McCutcheon, Brose Partington, Tom Torluemke
2008:  Anthony Luensman, Michael Lyons, LaRinda Meinburg, Brian Priest, Letitia Quesenberry
2009:  Anila Quayyum, Jennifer Reeder, Casey Riordan, Tyson Skross, Chris Vorhees
2010:  Agha Leah Gauthier, Stacey Holloway, Millard Arthur Liou, Melissa Pokorny, Artur Silva

For complete details, visit: or contact Beth Barich at 317.63.42423, or

More about the Efroymson Family Fund
More about CICF
Media Resources