CICF News / 2012 / April / News Post
April 18, 2012
Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients Announced

Thirteen students from Marion and Hamilton counties have been named recipients of four-year, full-tuition scholarships as the Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF) 2012 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

Hamilton County recipients include:
Leslie Price, Sheridan High School
Robert Herron, Fishers High School
Kayla Snyder, Fishers High School
Yekaterina Kantar, Westfield High School

Marion County recipients include:
Biak Chin Par, Southport High School
Cara Donovan, North Central High School
Conner Merritt, Warren Central High School
David Johnson, Northwest High School
Jessica James, Speedway High School
Michelle Otieno, Covenant Christian High School
Kirsten Davenport, Heritage Christian High School
Kahadija Evans, Ben Davis High School
Richie Maher, Emmerich Manual High School

A total of 63 applications were received for the scholarships, which stipulated that recipients must: plan to pursue a full-time baccalaureate course of study beginning in the fall of 2012 at a public or private college or university in Indiana; demonstrate an un-weighted GPA of at least 2.5; demonstrate financial need; demonstrate leadership or initiative in their school or community; and promise to, upon graduation, give back to the community. Applicants were interviewed by a selection committee and finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the selection of recipients.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 142 scholarships awarded statewide.

More about scholarships.

More about CICF.