CICF News / 2013 / April / News Post
April 26, 2013
2013 Lilly Scholarship Recipients Announced

Thirteen students from Marion and Hamilton counties have been named recipients of four-year, full-tuition scholarships as the Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF) 2013 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

A total of 98 central Indiana students were interviewed for the scholarships, which stipulated that recipients must: plan to pursue a fulltime baccalaureate course of study beginning in the fall of 2013 at a public or private college or university in Indiana; demonstrate an un-weighted GPA of at least 2.5 (3.0 for students in Hamilton County); demonstrate financial need; demonstrate leadership or initiative in their school or community; and promise to, upon graduation, give back to the community.

Thirty-two Hamilton County students were interviewed by the Hamilton County Lilly Community Endowment Scholarship Selection Committee for the scholarships. The following four were selected as scholarship recipients: Luke Williams, Bishop Chatard High School; Nathan Barr, Fishers High School; Linh Ha, Fishers High School; and Kainat Akmal, St. Theodore Guerin High School.

Sixty-six Marion County students were interviewed by the Marion County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Selection Committee for the scholarships. The following nine were selected as as scholarship recipients: Jacqueline Woodcock, Perry Meridian High School; Mizraim Lorenzo-Aguilar, Ben Davis University High School; Alisa Schaefer, Providence Cristo Rey High School; Taylor Wilks, Pike High School; Rebekah Pack, Warren Central High School; Bailey Butrum, Bishop Chatard High School; Polet Morgado-Arellano, Ben Davis University High School; Liliana Patino, Warren Central High School; and Kelly Marcelo, Perry Meridian High School.

Each nominee was nominated by his/her guidance counselor before being invited to complete an application and then interview through The Indianapolis Foundation, a CICF affiliate serving Marion County or Legacy Fund, a CICF affiliate serving Hamilton County. Any accredited high school may nominate up to two students in each county. The finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for final approval.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment Inc. initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. A total of 142 scholarships were awarded statewide.

Read more about one Lilly Scholar's efforts to give back through her service with the Peace Corps.

Read more about CICF's Scholarship Program