CICF Announces Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – Thirteen students from Marion and Hamilton counties have been named recipients of four-year, full-tuition scholarships as the Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF) 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

A total of 99 central Indiana students were interviewed for the scholarships, which stipulated that recipients must: plan to pursue a fulltime baccalaureate course of study beginning in the fall of 2014 at a public or private college or university in Indiana; demonstrate an un-weighted GPA of at least 2.5 (3.0 for students in Hamilton County); demonstrate financial need; demonstrate leadership or initiative in their school or community; and promise to, upon graduation, give back to the community.

Thirty Hamilton County students were interviewed by the Hamilton County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Selection Committee for the scholarships following nominations by their school counselors. The following four were selected as scholarship recipients: Michael Boyer, Sheridan High School; Lucas Miller, Fishers High School; Stephen (Pete) Freeman, Noblesville High School; and Christopher White, Herron High School.

Sixty-nine Marion County students were interviewed by the Marion County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Selection Committee for the scholarships following nominations by their school counselors. The following nine were selected as as scholarship recipients: Keenan Rhodes, Park Tudor High School; Jesus Bazan, Lawrence Central High School; Maddison Schiller, Cardinal Ritter High School; Nupe Vinton, Franklin Central High School; Caleb Guerrero, Key Learning Community; Elsa Posada, Ben Davis University High School; Syretha Shirley, Pike High School; Ana Sainz, Cardinal Ritter High School; and Katie Thien, Lawrence North High School. Chastity Li of Ben Davis High School was originally awarded a scholarship but declined in order to accept an offer of admission to an out-of-state university.

Each nominee was nominated by his/her guidance counselor before being invited to complete an application and then interview through The Indianapolis Foundation, a CICF affiliate serving Marion County or Legacy Fund, a CICF affiliate serving Hamilton County. Any accredited high school could nominate up to two students in each county. Following the application and interview process, the finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for final approval.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. A total of 143 scholarships were awarded statewide.

Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF) is a $694 million public foundation transforming the lives of central Indiana residents in three ways: consulting donors, family foundations and their professional advisors on charitable giving; awarding grants to effective not-for-profit organizations; and providing leadership to address community needs and seize opportunities. CICF was established in 1997 as a partnership between The Indianapolis Foundation, serving Marion County since 1916, and Legacy Fund, serving Hamilton County since 1991. For more information about CICF, visit, or contact Mike Knight at

Leave A Comment