Central Indiana Community Foundation Announces Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients

Michelle Sanchez of Shortridge High School

Michelle Sanchez of Shortridge High School

Students in Marion, Hamilton counties receive full-tuition scholarships

Central Indiana Community Foundation affiliates, The Indianapolis Foundation and Hamilton County Community Foundation, are pleased to announce that 13 applicants from both Marion and Hamilton Counties have been awarded the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Recipients will receive up to four years of full tuition to attend any accredited public or private not-for-profit college or university in Indiana. 

Area high schools submitted two students for consideration by the nominating committees at The Indianapolis Foundation, the CICF affiliate serving Marion County, and Hamilton County Community Foundation (formerly Legacy Fund), the CICF affiliate serving Hamilton County. Sixty-nine and 30 students were interviewed in each county, respectively, and finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. for final selection.
Marion County recipients include:

  • Hollie Harper, Scecina Memorial High School
  • Jassmine Dominguez-Torres, Lawrence North High School
  • Nayara Henriquez, University High School
  • Kaniya Hester, Lawrence Central High School
  • Dennis Lopez-Martinez, Ben Davis High School
  • Zikra Mostafa, North Central High School
  • Olivier N’tala, International School of Indiana
  • Montserrat Rodriguez-Bahena, Arsenal Tech High School
  • Michelle Sanchez, Shortridge High School

Hamilton County recipients include:

  • Rosemary Allison, Hamilton Heights High School
  • Sally Boone, Heritage Christian School
  • Allison Koontz, Westfield High School
  • Weston Matatall, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School

A total of 143 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships were awarded as part of the statewide Lilly Endowment initiative, which has awarded 4,626 scholarships and funding over $392 million since 1998. CICF and its affiliates are currently accepting applications for nearly 50 other funds. LEARN MORE HERE.

Zikra Mostafa and staff at North Central High School

Zikra Mostafa and staff at North Central High School


The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, not-for-profit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. 

Leave A Comment