Central Indiana Community Foundation Announces Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients

Students in Marion, Hamilton counties receive full-tuition scholarships

Central Indiana Community Foundation affiliates, The Indianapolis Foundation and Hamilton County Community Foundation, are pleased to announce that 13 applicants from both Marion and Hamilton counties have been awarded the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Recipients will receive up to four years of full tuition to attend any accredited public or private not-for-profit college or university in Indiana.

Area high schools submitted two students for consideration by the nominating committees at The Indianapolis Foundation, serving Marion County, and Hamilton County Community Foundation, serving Hamilton County. Fifty-eight and 26 students were interviewed in each county, respectively, and finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. for final selection.

Marion County recipients are:

  • Edith Rios – George Washington High School
  • Faith Harrington – Crispus Attucks High School
  • Feven Tekeste – Crispus Attucks High School
  • Josue Blanco – Warren Central High School
  • Mariangel Morales Aparicio – Ben Davis High School
  • Sharan Kaur – Franklin Central High School
  • Steve Akinterinwa – Ben Davis University High School
  • Yahiry Xique – Lawrence North High School
  • Zaheen Rashed – Lawrence North High School

Hamilton County recipients are:

  • Arianna Kelley – Fishers High School
  • Jayana Hammonds – Carmel High School
  • Maya Leonard – Hamilton Heights High School
  • Thomas Adams – Hamilton Southeastern High School

Including this year, 4,769 full-tuition scholarships have been awarded to Indiana students since Lilly Endowment Inc. launched the program in 1998. Since then, more than $405 million in scholarship tuition has been provided through the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program. CICF and its affiliates are currently accepting applications for nearly 50 other funds until Feb. 5, 2020. Learn more about those opportunities here.


The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Leave A Comment