CICF Artist Ambassadors Announce Recipients of Travel Grants

Artists are selected to pursue opportunities to expand or strengthen their creative practice.

Central Indiana Community Foundation’s (CICF) Artist Ambassadors announced 22 recipients that will receive a total of $89,931 in grants. These micro-grants were created by the CICF Artist Ambassadors to provide flexible funding to travel within North America to pursue opportunities that would expand or strengthen their creative practice. CICF’s Artist Ambassadors agree that dedicated time and space to visit and experience communities outside of Central Indiana is essential for any artist looking to expand their creative mind, gain access to new resources, make new connections, and find additional inspiration.  

Formed in 2019, the CICF Artist Ambassadors cohort was brought together to explore how CICF grant funding could directly support artists—specifically, artists of color, from the LGBTQ+ community, and artists with disabilities.   

Historically, artists from these communities have not been resourced at an equitable level. Through programs like this one, the Artist Ambassadors, alongside The Indianapolis Foundation, hope to address some of the disparity.   

Pamela Ross

Pamela Ross

“In the past several years, over $200,000 has been put directly into the hands of artists. This funding is incredibly impactful for these creators and, by extension, the whole city,” said Pamela Ross, Vice President of Community Leadership and Equitable Initiatives at The Indianapolis Foundation. “The support enables them to continue creating and expanding their experiences in order to hone their crafts and skills as they make Indianapolis a more vibrant and livable city that reflects the whole community. It is important to our equity work that the perspectives of these artists help shape the narrative of this city.”  

Funding for the CICF Artist Ambassador program was provided by the Margot L. Eccles Arts & Culture Fund, a fund of CICF and the Allen Whitehill Clowes Charitable Foundation.  

See the full list of recipients below:

Alejandra Carillo 
LaShawnda Crowe Storm 
Hector Del Campo 
Tea Franco 
Christopher Todd Fuqua 
Rebekah Gailard  
Lalah Hazelwood 
Christopher Bryn Jackson 
Julian Jamaal Jones 
Derek Kendrick 
April Knauber 
Thomas K-Johnson 
Edward Lanier McClung 
Stuart Lewis 
Sabra Logan 
Keegan Loye 
Mongomeli Matuka  
Brandon Meeks 
Kahlil Mwaafrika 
Moriah Salisbury 
Ronne Madel Stone 
Joshua Thompson 

For more information, email

Leave A Comment