Funds & Foundations

About the Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowship

Now in its 9th year, the Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowship program was established to reward creativity, and to encourage emerging and established individual artists by supporting their artistic development in order to increase awareness of contemporary art in the Midwest.

The Fellowship program currently awards $25,000 to selected Fellows, and has distributed $825,000 to 40 contemporary Midwestern visual artists since its inception in 2004.

Fellowship categories are restricted to Installation, Sculpture and New Media, and selection criteria is based upon: Quality and skill; creativity and uniqueness; commitment to developing the work; and impact the award will have on the artist’s career. To be eligible, artists must: Be age 25 or older by May 8, 2014; a resident of either Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota or Wisconsin as of May 2013; and make a commitment to reside in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota or Wisconsin for the duration of the fellowship (September 2014-September 2015).

Applications for the 2014 Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowship will be accepted through Thursday, May 8, 2014.

Interested in applying for the 2014 Efroymson Fellowship?
Artists interested in applying for the 9th round of Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellowships should review the complete guidelines and submit an online application by Thursday, May 8, 2014.

For additional information, applicants should contact Mary Johnson at, or 317-634-2423.

2013 Fellows

The 2013 Efroymson Fellows were honored at a private reception on June 13 at the Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago. The recipients were among 265 artists who submitted applications.

The 2013 Fellows are:

Scott Carter: 28, Chicago, Illinois; Installation.
Sarah FitzSimons: 35, Madison, Wisconsin; Sculpture.
Jason Lazarus: 37, Chicago, Illinois; Sculpture/Installation.
Harold Mendez: 35, Chicago, Illinois; Installation.
Roy Staab: 71, West Allis, Wisconsin; Sculpture.

View the work of the 2013 Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellows


Efroymson Contemporary Arts Fellows | 2004-2013

Marc Jacobson
Greg Hull
Linda Adele Goodine
Eric Nordgulen
David Russick

Katrin Asbury
Stuart Hyatt
Emily Kennerk
Brian Myers
Jamie Pawlus

Casey Roberts
Lucinda Devlin
Brian McCutcheon
Brose Partington
Tom Torluemke


Anthony Luensman
Michael Lyons
LaRinda Meinburg
Brian Priest
Letitia Quesenberry
Anila Quayyum Agha
Jennifer Reeder
Casey Riordan Millard
Tyson Skross
Chris Vorhees

Leah Gauthier
Stacey Holloway
Arthur Liou
Melissa Pokorny
Artur Silva

Tiffany Carbonneau
Ben Johnson
Andrea Myers
David Rowe
Meredith Setser


Scott Carter
Sarah FitzSimons
Jason Lazarus
Harold Mendez
Roy Staab